top of page
No tags yet.

Coloring – It’s not just for kids anymore


Adult coloring – It’s all the new craze lately. If you do a google search using the term “adult coloring” you will have enough information to keep you reading for weeks. So, what is this adult coloring I’m talking about?

There are so many things that adults stop doing that they did as a child. It’s sad because a lot of things that are taboo for adults to be doing are actually things that we shouldn’t have to stop doing if we don’t want to. Many childhood activities are fun and don’t harm anyone to participate in and one of those activities is coloring. Yep, good ol’ fashioned coloring.

You’re probably laughing right now or wondering if I’ve lost my mind. Nope, I’m a child at heart and I try to stay feeling young. I’m in my late 3o’s but I will do many things that a kid would do. Why? Because it keeps my mind young and my soul happy.

Adult coloring is a clean, relaxing, fun activity for adults of any age to enjoy. At first the term “adult coloring” may seem a little naughty but believe me it’s nothing like that. What it entails is using coloring tools other than crayons to color pictures that can be seen as advanced compared to what an average child would be seen coloring.

The most popular coloring tool used is colored pencils. They do a lot better job then crayons and they are not as harsh, messy or permanent as markers. There are a lot of coloring tricks that can be done using colored pencils that you can’t do with markers or gel pens.

I personally use colored pencils. I love the look that can be done with markers but I just haven’t used markers yet myself. I have also read about others using gel pens but I have not tried those.

Now that you know what to use to color with I’m sure you’re really curious as to how different adult coloring pages are to what we are used to seeing for kids. Well, I gotta say, most of the ones I saw are art without any coloring being done. Here is an example of an adult coloring page:

Isn’t it beautiful? Now, just imagine it with color and since you’re the one that will be coloring it you can make it look any way you see fit. You don’t have to be an artist to color pictures. I am definitely NOT an artist but I do love coloring pictures.

You can either buy adult coloring books or you can download free pictures that can be used to color. I typically download pictures to use because my ideas or tastes change so often that I would go broke buying all the different coloring books. I keep a collection of free coloring page resources on Pinterest which you can see here

ARCHIVE
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
bottom of page