top of page
No tags yet.

Crockpot Refried Beans


Refried beans, you either love them or hate them. I really like refried beans but I only use them for burritos. I know some people use them as an actual side dish but I don’t care for them like that. My husband hates beans but he loves this recipe. Why? Because I found the trick to get him to like them, the blender wand. If you don’t have one of these you can use your blender or food processor if you want your refried beans smooth and creamy without bean chunks. You don’t have to blend your beans if you don’t want to.

This method is done using a crockpot. It’s great because you throw everything into the crockpot and basically forget about it. The only thing you need to do is change the level of heat after a few hours and then when they are done, drain them and mash them. As for the beans, you can either soak them over night the night before or don’t have to soak them. I don’t soak mine and I’ve never ran into any problems.

These beans store very well. I usually make a batch, split it into thirds, use one-third right away to make burritos and freeze the other two-thirds for later. When you want to use what you have frozen just thaw it out first and then go from there as you usually would.

ARCHIVE
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
bottom of page